A bold vision and a transformative approach, driven by our deep expertise.

Our Management, Board of Directors, and Scientific Advisory Board are comprised of world-class GI and autoimmune experts. Most with the experience and knowledge gained at large pharmaceutical companies and adapted to our unique culture of innovation and agility. All united by their desire to improve the treatment paradigm by developing targeted therapies.

The scientific minds informing our innovative approach

Our Scientific Advisory Board combines years of medical and discovery experience, clinical research activity, and regulatory expertise.

Scientific Advisory Board

Bruce Sands.

Bruce E. Sands, M.D.

Chairman of Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Bruce E. Sands is the head of the Division of Gastroenterology at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York, NY. He also serves as the Dr. Burrill B. Crohn’s Professor and Chief of Gastroenterology at Mount Sinai. Prior to joining Mount Sinai, Dr. Sands was Medical Co-Director of the Crohn’s & Colitis Center at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts, where he also served as the hospital’s Acting Chief of the Gastrointestinal Unit as well as Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He is a fellow of the American College of Gastroenterology and the American Gastroenterological Association and is reviewer for the New England Journal of Medicine. Dr. Sands received his medical degree at Boston University School of Medicine and completed a residency in internal medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. He then completed clinical and research fellowships at Massachusetts General Hospital. In 2001, Dr. Sands also earned a Master of Science in Epidemiology at Harvard School of Public Health.

Stephan Targan.

Stephan Targan, M.D.

Scientific Advisor
Dr. Stephan Targan is one of the founding members of Precision IBD, the predecessor of Prometheus Biosciences, and is currently the Director of the Inflammatory Bowel and Immunobiology Research Institute at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. Dr. Targan began his career at UCLA School of Medicine in 1978 and then moved his laboratories and practice in 1992 to establish the IBD Center at Cedars-Sinai. Dr. Targan has focused on identifying drivers of IBD pathogenesis which, in the context of such a genetically heterogenous disease, involves numerous biological and molecular pathways and compromises complex relationships between the intestinal microenvironment and the immune response. With over 4 decades of experience in treating IBD patients and over 300 peer-reviewed articles, Dr. Targan is a recognized leader in inflammatory bowel diseases. He was previously a co-founder of Santarus and Prometheus Laboratories.
Donna Griebel.

Donna Griebel, M.D.

Scientific Advisor
Dr. Donna Griebel is former Director of the Division of Gastroenterology and Inborn Errors Products (DGIEP) with the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). As acting Director, she regulated Investigational New Drug Applications (NDAs) and Biologics Licensing Applications (BLAs) for drugs and therapeutic biologics intended for the treatment and prevention of gastrointestinal, hepatic, and nutritional disorders and inborn errors of metabolism. In her prior position, Dr. Griebel was Deputy Director of the Division of Reproductive and Urologic Products, where she oversaw the safety and efficacy of drugs and therapeutic biologics aimed to improving reproductive and urologic health. She has extensive regulatory experience in drug development and served on CDER’s Medical Policy Council (MPC) and MPC’s Subcommittee on Safety Outcome Trials.
Dermot McGovern.

Dermot McGovern, M.D., Ph.D.

Scientific Advisor
Dr. Dermot McGovern is a gastroenterologist and preeminent geneticist in the IBD field. Dr. McGovern completed his GI fellowship and obtained a Ph.D. in complex disease genetics at the University of Oxford, England, before moving to Cedars-Sinai. Dr. McGovern is Director of Translational Medicine at Cedars-Sinai, Co-Director of the Cedars-Sinai IBD Repository (MIRIAD) and IBD Database, and was recently appointed the Director of Precision Health at Cedars-Sinai. Dr. McGovern serves on both the Steering Committee of the NIDDK IBD Genetics Consortium and on the Management Committee of the International IBD Genetics Consortium. Dr. McGovern is one of the founding members of Precision IBD, the predecessor of Prometheus Biosciences, and serves as the consulting geneticist and provides input on the patient selection criteria.
Brian Feagan.

Brian G. Feagan, M.D.

Scientific Advisor
Dr. Brian G. Feagan is a gastroenterologist, epidemiologist, and Senior Scientific Director at Alimentiv. He is the recipient of the 2013 Senior Achievement Award from the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA) and Dean’s Award of Excellence in 2013 from the University of Western Ontario. He has authored over 400 articles.
Mitchell Kronenberg.

Mitchell Kronenberg, Ph.D.

Scientific Advisor
Dr. Mitchell Kronenberg is the Chief Scientific Officer of the La Jolla Institute for Immunology (LJI), where he served as President for 18 years (2003-2021). Dr. Kronenberg’s diverse research interests in immunology include mucosal immunology and inflammatory bowel disease pathogenesis. Dr. Kronenberg received a Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology and was on the faculty of the UCLA School of Medicine before joining LJI. He has co-authored more than 375 publications and is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), a Distinguished Fellow of the American Association of Immunologists, recipient of an NIH MERIT award, and is an Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) Highly Cited Scientist. He is an advisor to a number of non-profit organizations including service as a member of the Board of Scientific Counselors for the National Cancer Institute.